PRETENDERS Learning To Crawl (MoFi)

1984 Smash the Sound of a Band Overcoming Tragedies and Staggering Odds With Gutsy Performances

Vigorous Determination and Solemn Reflectiveness Pepper Hits Such as “Back on the Chain Gang,” “2000 Miles,” “My City Was Gone”

Mastered from the Original Master Tapes: Punchy, Immediate, Deep Sound


In stock

What is the sound of a fledgling band dealing with multiple tragedies, coming to terms with drastic changes, digging deep into its consciousness, finding resolution in hurt, and overcoming staggering odds to record a bonafide masterwork? It’s the sound of every note that graces the Pretenders’ Learning to Crawl. Still recognized as one of the most emotionally gripping and musically gutsy performances ever made, the smash 1984 album hasn’t aged a day. And now, it sounds better than could ever be imagined.

Mastered from the original master tapes, Learning to Crawl finally possesses the combination of whisper-in-your-ear intimacy and nerve-checking toughness that it’s always demanded on Mobile Fidelity’s super-quiet analog LP. Leader Chrissie Hynde’s voice is made viscerally apparent, wavering between vigorous determination and solemn reflection, while drummer Martin Chamber’s punchy backbeats register with requisite punch. To say nothing of how fresh the effort’s hit singles (“Middle of the Road,” “Back on the Chain Gang”) and incredible deep cuts sound.

1. “Middle of the Road” – 4:08
2. “Back on the Chain Gang” – 3:44
3. “Time the Avenger” – 4:47
4. “Watching the Clothes” – 2:46
5. “Show Me” – 4:00
6. “Thumbelina” – 3:12
7. “My City Was Gone” – 5:14
8. “Thin Line Between Love and Hate”– 3:33
9. “I Hurt You” – 4:27
10. “2000 Miles” – 3:30

SKU: MFSL1339 : 821797133913 Category: Tag: