ANDREW HILL Black Fire (Tone Poet)

Blue Note Tone Poet Series

All Analog

Remastered by Kevin Gray from the original master tapes

Pressed At RTI



In stock

Andrew Hill’s Black Fire is both the pianist and composer’s debut and an acknowledged masterpiece of modern post-bop jazz. Featuring a sublime quartet with Joe Henderson on tenor saxophone, Richard Davis on bass, and Roy Haynes on drums, the music still sounds as fresh today as it did the day it was recorded in November 1963, the start of an astounding creative streak that also produced Hill’s great albums Smokestack, Judgment!, and Point of Departure during a period of just 4 months.

A1: Pumpkin
A2: Subterfuge 
A3: Black Fire 

B1: Cantardos
B2: Tired Trade
B3: McNeil Island 
B4: Land Of Nod

SKU: B002997501 : 602577520211 Category: