VA Kaleidoscope: New Spirts Known and Unknown (3LP +7″)

VA Kaleidoscope: New Spirts Known and Unknown (3LP +7″)


released 24 July

Available on backorder

SKU: SJRLP4557 : Category:

Share this product


Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ brings together many of the ground-breaking artists involved in the new jazz scene that has developed in the UK over the last few years. Featured artists include Matthew Halsall, Yazmin Lacey, Ill Considered, Tenderlonious, Theon Cross, Emma-Jean Thackray and many, many more in this ground-breaking release.

As well as sharing a pioneering spirit in these new artists’ approach to frontier-crossing musical boundaries, a further theme of this album is that many also share a determination to independent practices – and most of these artists’ recordings featured here are either self-published or released on independent labels. While the attention of this new wave of jazz artists has up until now has been London-based, this album shows how this movement is spread across the whole of Britain (and indeed beyond).

‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ shows that while there is commonality in these artists approach to music, there is a wide variety of styles – from deep spiritual jazz, electronic experimentalisation, punk-edged funk, uplifting modal righteousness, deep soulful vocals and much more.

1. Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra – When The World Was One
2. Yazmin Lacey – 90 Degrees
3. Hector Plimmer – Communication Control
4. Ill Considered – Long Way Home (Live At The Crypt)
5. The Expansions – Mosaic
6. Chip Wickham – Red Planet
7. Levitation Orchestra – Odyssey
8. Emma-Jean Thackray’s WALRUS – Walrus
9. Tenderlonious and The 22a Arkestra – The Shakedown
10. Pokus – Pokus One*
11. Theon Cross – Candace Of Meroe*
12. Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin featuring Nubya Garcia – Tanner’s Tango
13. Collocutor – Gozo
14. Makaya McCraven – Untitled
15. Nat Birchall – Ancient World
16. Ruby Rushton – Moonlight Woman
17. Ebi Soda – Dimmsdale
18. The Cromagnon Band – Thunder Perfect
19. SEED Ensemble – Mirrors

20. Ishmael Ensemble – Kito’s Theme**
21. Vels Trio – Yellow Ochre (Part 1)* few years.