TENNESSEE ERNIE FORD Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue (Analogue Productions)


TENNESSEE ERNIE FORD Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue (Analogue Productions)


Mastered by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio from the original tape

Plated and pressed at Quality Record Pressings on 180g

Stoughton tip-on jacket

Out of stock

SKU: AAPP126 : 753088112614 Category:

Share this product


“The sonics are the point here, or at least the main point. Ford’s deep, resonant voice, with a bit of reverb, is very well recorded. You could consider this a voice-fetish record of the ‘Wonderful world of … Vocals’ variety, and I’m sure many will buy it for that reason. But I hope some will buy it for the music: It may be an acquired taste for 21st century hi-fi sophisticates, but on its own terms, it’s good, so broaden your horizons. Pressed on flat, quiet 180g vinyl.” — Jim Austin, Stereophile, January 2021

Country Hits…Feelin’ Blue, released by Tennessee Ernie Ford in 1964, is a throwback — or as the liner notes to this country classic (perhaps Ford’s best) say, “You don’t hear much singing like this nowadays — just a voice with easy guitar and bass accompaniment.” But oh, what a voice. Ford’s resonant-voiced baritone might be best known for his 1955 cover of Merle Travis’ grim coal-mining song “Sixteen Tons,” with sales topping 4 million copies. The hit cemented Ford’s place as one of America’s top entertainers — a singer and TV host who enjoyed success during the 1950s, ’60s and ’70s in multiple musical genres — country, pop, and gospel.

Side A
1. Try Me One More Time
2. No Letter Today
3. Born To Lose
4. Don’t Rob Another Man’s Castle
5. There’ll Be No Teardrops Tonight
6. I Don’t Hurt Anymore

Side B
1. Worried Mind
2. No One Will Ever Know
3. Funny How Time Slips Away
4. Sweet Dreams
5. Tears On My Pillow
6. May You Never Walk Alone