In stock

Ambient House Music Inspired by John Cage, Brian Eno, and Jon Hassell
From Jazz Bassist & Electronic Experimentalist MOTOHIKO HAMASE
Originally Released in 1993 via NEWSIC / WACOAL ART CENTER
Co-produced by YOSHIO OJIMA
First Time on Vinyl Ever
With Liner Notes
Reissued in Conjunction with Hamase’s #Notes of Forestry and Anecdote albums
An Archival Focus on Yoshio Ojima, Satsuki Shibano, and Motohiko Hamase

WRWTFWW Records is very happy to announce the official reissue of Motohiko Hamase’s astounding ambient house album Technodrome (1993). The album is sourced from original masters and available on vinyl for the first time ever as well as on CD. It comes with liner notes from the artist. This marks the fourth release from the ESPLANADE SERIES which focuses on the works of Yoshio Ojima, Motohiko Hamase and Satsuki Shibano.

Inspired by John Cage, Jon Hassel, Brian Eno, and the emergence of house and techno music, Technodrome is jazz bassist turned electronic experimentalist Motohiko Hamase’s foray into what he calls ambient house or, as he explains, “using the gritty sensation inherent to the core of house music” to create an ambient record “aiming to express inverted images, optical illusions, and the sense of déjà vu that modern people can get in the city”.

Technodrome is constructed around innovative minimalism, a robotic funk orchestrated by bass lines and percussions, and monochrome moods. It’s the most intriguing project in Hamase’s discography, a ghostly ride set in 90s urban landscape, where repetition sets the groove and brings things to life, echoing Hamase’s deeper subtext for his compositions: “and attempt to recreate (as metaphor) the time in our mother’s womb”.

The album was initially released in 1993 by Newsic, the cult label started by Tokyo’s Wacoal Art Center (also known as Spiral), home, notably, of Yoshio Ojima who co-produced the album. It is now reissued in conjunction with Motohiko Hamase’s #Notes of Forestry and Anecdote albums, all coming out May 29th 2020.

Side A

1. Invisible city 6:09
2. Technodrome 8:37
3. Imagery 7:18
4. Opaque 5:48

Side B

1. End of legal fiction 8:48
2. Chirico 3:44
3. Moriana 8:22
4. Lattice (for saxophone quartet) 6:10

SKU: WRWTFWW035 : 4251648413721 Category: