VA – Madlib / Untinted: Sources For Madlib’s Shades of Blue 2LP

VA – Madlib / Untinted: Sources For Madlib’s Shades of Blue 2LP


Categories: ,

Share this product


In 2003, Madlib was given access to the Blue Note vault to remix & rework any of that illustrious catalog. The result was released by Blue Note asShades Of Blue, four sides of Madlibbed-versions of tunes from 1959 – 75; and, in a few cases, reworked as covers by some 21st jazz explorers (who all turned out to be Madlib under multiple pseudonyms). Even so, he never strayed far from the source material (why would anybody when the stuff is damn near perfect already?) — and in case you needed reminding, Untinted is a 2LP presenting all the originals.
There’s soul jazz from Horace Silver and Reuben Wilson; the avant-leaning piano of Andrew Hill; mid-60s era Herbie Hancock and Wayne Shorter; Donald Byrd’s previously-unreleased ‘Distant Land’ from the Black Byrd sessions (and the similarly-Mizelled title track to Stepping Into Tomorrow); and more. Crucial Notes!


1. The Three Sounds – The Look Of Slim
2. Donald Byrd – Distant Land
3. Ronnie Foster – Mystic Brew
4. Reuben Wilson – Stormy
5. Bobbi Humphrey – Please Set Me At Ease
6. Donald Byrd – Stepping Into Tomorrow
7. Andrew Hill – Illusion
8. Bobby Hutcherson – Montara
9. Horace Silver – Song For My Father
10. Wayne Shorter – Footprints
11. Horace Silver – Peace
12. Herbie Hancock – Dolphin Dance