VA – J-Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan 1969 – 84 3LP

VA – J-Jazz: Deep Modern Jazz From Japan 1969 – 84 3LP



Share this product


In the years following World War Two, Japan developed one of the most insatiable, dynamic and diverse markets for jazz. For a crucial period of little over a decade – from the late 1960s to the early 1980s – Japanese jazz culture progressed at an astonishing rate, producing an extraordinary array of artists, recordings and record labels that created some of the most forward thinking and impressive jazz to be committed to tape. This amazing journey is explored on ‘J Jazz’.
This compilation from BBE uncovers some of the most sought after and rare material from this period and pulls together key artists who shaped the post-war modern jazz scene in Japan.

‘J Jazz’ includes obscure and sought after rarities like the bass-driven power jazz of Koichi Matsukaze’s ‘Earth Mother’, the holy grail rarity of Aizawa Tohru Quartet’s ‘Dead Letter’ and the loping majesty of Takeo Moriyama’s ‘North Wind’. This collection takes the listener into deep spiritual jazz, post-modal impressionism and fierce dance-floor fusion with material from artists and composers whose names are generally only known to committed collectors of Japanese jazz. Fumio Karashima, Mitsuaki Katayama, Takeo Moriyama and Kiyoshi Sugimoto are among the names featured on an album aiming to shed a little light on the shadowy world of Japanese jazz clubs, tucked away in the neon backstreets.

None of the tracks featured on ‘J Jazz’ have ever received an official release outside Japan before. The albums the tracks are taken from are extremely hard to find and often fetch huge sums on the collector’s circuit. Originally pressed in small numbers on independent and private labels such as Union, Johnny’s Disk, Whynot, ALM and VAP, these tracks are now available for everyone to enjoy.

Side A
Koichi Matsukaze Trio – Earth Mother
Takeo Moriyama Quartet with Shigeharu Mukai – North Wind*

Side B
Tohru Aizawa Quartet – Dead Letter
Eiji Nakayama – Aya’s Samba

Side C
Takao Uematsu – White Fire
George Otsuka Quintet – Sea Breeze*

Side D
Shintaro Quintet – A Blind Man
Mitsuaki Katayama – Unknown Point

Side E
Fumio Karashima – Little Island
Kiyoshi Sugimoto – Long Neal

Side F
Takeo Moriyama – Kaze
Terumasa Hino Meets Reggie Workman – Ode to Workman*