VA – Feeling Good: The Supreme Sound of Producer Bob Shad 2LP

VA – Feeling Good: The Supreme Sound of Producer Bob Shad 2LP


Browse Wishlist
Categories: , , ,

Share this product


“It’s really spiritual, fun and funky and sometimes a little crazy, which perfectly captures Bobby Shad. Enjoy.” – Judd Apatow (Bobby Shad’s grandson, who provides sleeve notes for the record).

Feeling Good is a compilation of rare Spiritual Jazz and Funk grooves culled from legendary Producer Bob Shad’s Mainstream Records. Alice Clark’s cult classic “Never Did I Stop Loving You” features here alongside many gems uncovered for the first time. Working with titans such as Charlie Parker and Lightnin’ Hopkins in the 40s, founding the EmArcy jazz label in the 50s and discovering Janis Joplin in the 60s, Bob Shad has had an incredible influence. Drenched in modal Fender Rhodes keys, spiritual sax and flute solos, deep percussions and funky beats, these albums have slowly been rediscovered by a new generation of DJs, hip hop producers and vinyl junkies. Afrique’s classic “House of the Rising Funk” and its funky wah wah frenzy to Hadley Caliman’s deep jazz Flute ode; From one of Clark Terry’s famous Mumbles (Shad produced the original with Oscar Peterson) to Jack Wilkins’ “Red Clay” sampled by both A Tribe Called Quest and Chance the Rapper. A Soul Music lover, Shad also excelled in soul divas and produced Ellerine Harding, Maxine Weldon and of course the mighty Alice Clark. Carmen McRae, one of Shad’s long time collaborators, gives a soulful, conga-led version of the classic Feelin’ Good, a song made famous by Nina Simone.

1: House Of The Rising Funk 1973 – Afrique

2: Soul Village 1971 – Blue Mitchell

3: Magical Connection 1971 – Sarah Vaughan

4: Soulsides 1972 – Art Farmer

5: Mask 1972 – Shelly Manne

6: Never Did I Stop Loving You 1972 – Alice Clark

7: Abscretions 1971 – Buddy Terry

8: Right On 1971 – Maxine Weldon

9: Scatbird 1972 – Barry Miles

10: Red Clay 1973 – Jack Wilkins

11: Rum And Mumbles 1966 – Clark Terry

12: I Ain’t Got Much 1972 – Ellerine Harding

13: Granite & Concrete 1972 – Blue Mitchell

14: Quadrivium 1972 – Hadley Caliman

15: Feelin’ Good 1965 – Carmen McRae