THE TESKEY BROTHERS – Half Mile Harvest deluxe CD

THE TESKEY BROTHERS – Half Mile Harvest deluxe CD


released 26 Oct

Categories: , ,

Share this product


Forming over a decade ago when brothers Sam (guitar) and Josh Teskey teamed up with childhood friends, and long-time jamming buddies, Brendon Love (Bass) and Liam Gough (Drums), ‘Half Mile Harvest’ is the perfect summation of everything the band has learnt about playing, songwriting and production over the last decade. Completely self-produced at their own studio in Warrandyte, Australia, recorded live to tape and mixed down on an analogue board, The Teskey Brothers were trying to capture the humanity of their recordings, warts and all, making the listener feel as though they are sitting in the room while the band plays around them. And for The Teskey Brothers it is all about feeling. “If you don’t play it with soul, it’s not soul music, it’s just two chords and a beat,” says Sam.

The results of their effort and attention to detail are stunning. Across its 10 tracks The Teskey Brothers take influence from Otis Redding, JJ Cale and Marvin Gaye, mixing in elements of old Blues and British Invasion rock n roll, even some psychedelia, to create a record that feels completely timeless, transcending eras to deliver something that could have been made now or 50 years ago. It’s no mere pastiche though either. It’s a sound that knows its influences, but The Teskey Brothers have spent enough time playing together to find their own sound and put their distinctive mark on something classic.

1. Crying Shame
2. Say You’ll Do
3. Pain And Misery
4. Shiny Moon
5. Reason Why
6. I Get Up
7. Louisa
8. Til The Sky Turns Black
9. Hard Feeling
10.Honeymoon (preorder)