LATE NIGHT TALES – Olafur Arnalds 2LP + DL

LATE NIGHT TALES – Olafur Arnalds 2LP + DL


Ltd Collectors Ed.

Half Speed Mastered for Optimum Audiophile Reproduction

Pressed on 180g Heavyweight Vinyl


Share this product


Standing at the intersection where techno meets classical music, Ólafur Arnalds directs the newest Late Night Tales.
After releasing the breakthrough album ‘And They Have Escaped The Weight Of Darkness’, in 2014 he was awarded a BAFTA for best original music for the TV series Broadchurch. Arnalds’ music has a quietude that seems perfectly apposite and that’s evident here as each song drifts like an autumn wind towards the next.
Arnalds has enlisted the help of a few of his countrymen for the journey out west – electronic bands Samaris and Hjaltalín – and just as his records manage to combine the experimentalism and adventure of electronic music with a classical sensibility, here he weaves them perfectly, using tracks like Koreless’ brilliant post-dubstep ‘Last Remnants’ alongside the enigmatic brilliance of Jai Paul. It’s a perfect musical landscape that is eerie yet beautiful, as on Odesza’s ‘How Did I Get Here’.
As if Ólafur wasn’t spoiling us enough, he offers up three exclusives: his own ‘Kinesthesia I’ and ‘RGB’ and ‘Orgoned’ by his techno side project Kiasmos. Alongside that we have the obligatory cover version (Destiny’s Child’s ‘Say My Name’) and also a Late Night Tales debut for David Tennant, reading a story by Anam Sufi, with whom Ólafur worked on Broadchurch.

Vinyl Version:
2 x 180g vinyl version (Unmixed tracks with download codes for mix and unmixed tracks as flac/wav/mp3)

A Side:
1. Hjálmar Lárusson and Jónbjörn Gíslason – Jómsvíkingarímur – ýta feldi eigi rór 1:13
2. Julianna Barwick – Forever 5:30
3. Koreless – Last Remnants 4:20
4. Odesza – How Did I Get Here (Instrumental) 2:10
5. Anois – A Noise 4:06

B Side:
1. Samaris – Góða Tungl 4:11
2. Ólafur Arnalds – RGB 5:02
3. Rival Consoles – Pre 5:15
4. Jai Paul – Jasmine 4:11

C Side:
1. Four Tet – Lion (Jamie xx Remix) 7:09
2. James Blake – Our Love Comes Back 3:39
3. Spooky Black – Pull 4:14
4. Sarah Neufeld & Colin Stetson – And still they move 2:58

D Side:
1. Ólafur Arnalds ft. Arnór Dan – Say My Name 5:41
2. Kiasmos – Orgoned 6:00
3. Ólafur Arnalds – Kinesthesia I 1:46
4. Hjaltalín – Etheral 6:39
5. David Tennant – Undone 3:36