Elvis Costello – Wise Up: Thought Remixes & Reworks 10″

Elvis Costello – Wise Up: Thought Remixes & Reworks 10″


Out of stock

Categories: ,

Share this product


Wise Up Thought- Remixes and Reworks- Is the Remix EP companion to the album ‘Wise Up Ghost’ the genre-defying collaborative tour de force from Elvis Costello and the Roots. On the album Costello and Ahmir ‘?uestlove’ Thompson stirred the musical pot of gumbo, mixing together elements of soul, funk, hip-hop, punk and afro beat. Wise Up Thought EP is a deconstructive plate of their soul, stew and features genre-specific remixes and reworks that play off those included in the albums sonic landscape. J Dilla Disciple and Stones Throw Records beat maker/drummer Karriem Riggins contributed 4 new exclusive remixes and 3 interludes on the hip hop front. Riggins remix of ‘Cinco Minutos Con Vos’ features the Roots rapper Black Thought going toe to toe with Costello with his own brand of lyrical wordplay. Daptone Records artists Antiballas (of Fela, The Musical! fame) contribute an afro beat reworking of lead single ‘Walk Us Uptown’. Daptone Records own Menahan Street Band (A collective featuring members of Sharon Jones and the Dap-Kings and El Michaels Affair) come with the Memphis-To Muscle Shoals slow funk flavor in their rework of ‘Tripwire’. It’s A moody brooding affair, cathartic rhythms and dissonant lullabies. ‘I went stark and dark on the music. Elvis went ham on sole ole Ezra Pound shit’. Ahmir ?uestlove Thompson.

1. Cinco Minutos Con Vos-Karriem Riggins Remix (Featuring Black Thought)
2. Sugar Won’t Work-Karriem Riggins Beat Interlude
3. Come the Meantimes-Karriem Riggins Remix
4. The Puppet Has Cut It’s String-Karriem Riggins Beat Interlude
5. Tripwire-Menahan Street Band Rework
6. Viceroy’s Road-Karriem Riggins Beat Interlude
7. Walk Us Uptown-Antibalas Rework (Chico Mann Edit)