Out of stock

Categories: , ,

Share this product


The soundtrack to the ‘blaxploitation’ movie Superfly stayed in the U.S. album charts for almost a year, topping it for four weeks in 1972 and earning Curtis a gold disc. Two singles taken from the album, the title song and the million-selling ‘Freddie’s Dead’, both went Top 10. These two songs, along with the stark and sinister ‘Pusherman’, worked brilliantly in the context of the film, delivering a potent anti-drugs message.

The deluxe 2LP reissue presents the original soundtrack album together with a bonus disc of demos, alternate versions, a track which did not appear on the original album, two anti-drugs radio spots, labelmates The Natural Four’s version of ‘Eddie You Should Know Better’ and an excerpt from a 1996 interview with Mayfield discussing the film’s impact and legacy. It also includes material recorded for but not included in the original motion picture soundtrack.

Side 1
1. Little Child Runnin’ Wild
2. Pusherman
3. Freddie’s Dead
4. Junkie Chase [instrumental] 5. Give Me Your Love (Love Song)

Side 2
1. Eddie You Should Know Better
2. No Thing On Me (Cocaine On Me)
3. Think [instrumental] 4. Superfly
Bonus tracks
5. Ghetto Child [demo 1971] 6. Militant March [from the film score] 7. Radio Spot #1

Side 3
1. Pusherman [alternate mix] 2. Freddie’s Dead [instrumental version] 3. Junkie Chase [instrumental full-length version] 4. Eddie You Should Know Better [instrumental version] 5. Eddie You Should Know Better • The Natural Four

Side 4
1. Superfly [single edit] 2. No Thing On Me (Cocaine On Me) [instrumental version] 3. Freddie’s Dead [single edit] 4. The Underground [demo 1970] 5. Check Out Your Mind [instrumental studio jam] 6. Radio Spot #2