1 in stock

SKU: AUK127LP : 5055869542982 Category:

Share this product


The first thing that hits you is the voice. Alex Lipinski’s ca­ressing sympathy, full-throated
resentment, and the raw rockabilly excitement of earliest Elvis have grabbed unwary listeners
from the West Country to Krakow, Berlin and New York, since he first left Somerset to become a crucial habitué of Soho’s legendary, lost 12-Bar Club. With older brother and fellow musician Adam Lipinski by his side at Newcombe’s re­sidential studio in Berlin, ‘Alex’ basically took six hours. Anton put a lot of time and energy in. I recorded with an old guitar, because he wanted to capture the effortless, timeless ’60s records that he had in his mind.

The first evening we rattled though the songs, a take or two of each and in those six hours everything clicked. By midnight we were done. We added small overdubs on the record later. But the album captures the character of the songs live with no frills. The slight imperfections add to the feel. Anton taught me about perfect mistakes.
Track Listing:
1 Going Nowhere Fast
2 Dandylion Blues
3 Carolyn
4 Hurricane
5 Come On People
6 Sophie’s Song
7 The Devil You Know
8 Lonely Kid
9 Another Travellin’ Song
10 This Girl